When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more here.

Alabama Window Tint Laws [2021 Update]

Window tints can add uniqueness to your vehicle and can even offer medical benefits.

If you are considering tinting your vehicle’s windows, you need to know the Alabama tint laws.

We will discuss how dark the tint is allowed to be and the reflective tint limitations.

You will also need to consider the tint percentages in the state of Alabama.

What is VLT?

VLT refers to the visible light transmission.

This term defines the percentage of light that can pass through the window tint film and glass.

Percentage regulations may be different for passenger vehicles and multi-purpose vehicles.

A higher percentage of Visible Light Transmission lets more light pass through the window tint, and a lower percentage of Visible Light Transmission allows less light to pass through.

Specific guidelines apply in various states, so it’s essential to know the local limits.

VLT Percentages

A 75% window tint will allow much more light to pass in comparison to, say, a 10% window tint which would only allow for up to 10% of the light to pass.

READ  Maine Window Tint Laws [2021 Update]

The state of Alabama has its own rules and regulations with allowable limits.

What is Legal for Window Tints in Alabama for Passenger Vehicles?

  • Your front windshield is permitted to have the top six inches have a non-reflective window tint.
  • Your backseat side windows are permitted to have up to 32% window tint darkness.
  • Your rear window is permitted up to have up to 32% window tint darkness.
  • Your front-seat side windows are permitted to have up to 32% window tint darkness.

What is Legal for Window Tint Law in Alabama for Multi-Purpose Vehicles?

  • Your front windshield is permitted to have the top six inches have a non-reflective window tint.
  • Your back seat side windows are permitted to have any percentage of tint darkness.
  • Your rear window is permitted to have any percentage of tint darkness.
  • Your front-seat side windows are permitted to have up to 32% window tint darkness.

Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Alabama?

Yes, you can get pulled over for window tint in Alabama.

If an officer has reason to believe that you have violated any of the window tint laws, there is a possibility of this happening.

ll colors of window tint are legal in Alabama, so there is no need to worry if you have chosen a special color for your vehicle’s window tint.

For this reason, it is important to keep all certifications and permits in your vehicle, and ensure that your VLT percentage is displayed clearly.

Can I Get Fined for Tint in Alabama?

Yes, you can.

READ  What’s The Gas Mileage For A Hummer?

There is a maximum fine of $100 and/or ten days in prison on the first conviction of non-compliance.

If you receive a second conviction within a year of the first, your maximum fine would be $200 and/or 30 days in jail.

If you get convicted a third time, that fine can be up to $500 and/or three months in prison.

It is very important to follow the regulations.

Are You Interested in a DIY Window Tint Project?

Maybe you are considering installing your window tint to save a few bucks.

Although the professionals will guarantee their work and do it right the first time, if you are going to take this on, you may want to follow these specific steps to ensure a quality job.

Before you begin, you will need window film tint, application solution, a squeegee, a razor blade, a lint-free cloth, a scraper blade, and a heat gun.

You can purchase an entire DIY window tinting kit.

You should keep in mind, however, that applying window tint yourself is a time-consuming process.

Additional Window Tint Regulations in Alabama

Although you are not required to have side mirrors, you must have at least one rearview mirror, and that can include the windshield mirror.

You can choose from a variety of colors of window tint in Alabama, putting your own unique flare on your vehicle.

Window Tint Certification

Before selecting your window tint, check to make sure the film has been certified.

All window tint film manufacturers must certify the film they sell.

This is also something that you should ask your installer.

READ  How Long Does It Take To Learn How To Drive?

You will require a certified sticker between the film and the glass on each tinted window to prove that your tint complies with legal tinting requirements.

Are There Medical Exemptions in Alabama for Window Tint?

There are medical exemptions for window tint laws in Alabama.

Alabama state law states that you may apply for a medical exemption if you have certain medical conditions.

Some conditions and limitations may apply.

You must place the compliance sticker in your vehicle’s window.

Filing for a Medical Exemption in Alabama

First, you must contact the Medical Records Unit in the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency.

Be sure to select the Driver’s License Division for specific regulations on medical exemptions for tinted windows.

Conclusion

Before considering tinting your windows be sure to carefully follow Alabama’s window tint laws.

Remember, you can be pulled over for window tint if authorities have a concern.

Multi-purpose vehicles and passenger vehicles have different requirements.

We recommend hiring a professional to install your window tint, but if you choose a DIY project, be sure to select the right tools and follow the guidelines carefully.

Window tint can add appeal to your car, assist with your medical needs, and potentially increase your car’s resale value.

Scroll to Top