There are plenty of reasons why people love having tinted windows.
However, certain tint levels can be dangerous and even illegal in particular states.
It’s essential to know the rules and regulations of your state so you can avoid an inconvenient, lengthy encounter with a local police officer and a citation.
Ignorance isn’t bliss when it comes to window tint laws.
Keep reading to learn more about window tint rules in Delaware.
Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Delaware?
Although you’d probably love the answer to be no, we’re sad to inform you that you can get pulled over for illegal window tinting in the state of Delaware.
Keep in mind that even if your vehicle is not registered in Delaware, the law applies to all motor vehicles.
So, make sure to remember that before heading out on a road trip!
If you choose to install tint to your windows, you must abide by the following rules for both passenger vehicles and multi-purpose vehicles.
For the front windshield of your passenger or multi-purpose vehicle, you’re allowed to use non-reflective tint only above the AS-1 line as designated by the vehicle manufacturer.
If you do not have this line marked on your car, the requirement is 5”.
You can use any level of tint on your back windshield and rear passenger side windows.
However, you can only use a maximum of 70% tint on the front windows.
If your back window is tinted, you are required to install dual side mirrors for improved visibility.
There is no restriction on the color of tint you choose, and film manufacturers are not required to certify their tints.
However, you will need to request a sticker from your window tinting company that signifies that the tinting level is within legal limits.
This should be placed in between the glass and film on the driver’s window.
What Happens If You Get Pulled Over?
If you’re pulled over for your window tint, you could be charged a fine or be required to remove your window tinting.
Both are expensive punishments that you certainly want to avoid at all costs. However, many times you can remove the tint and lower your fine.
The fine itself can cost anywhere from $20-$100 while having a professional remove your tint can cost you around $100 to $225.
How Is Window Tint Measured?
Visible Light Transmission (VLT) refers to how much light can pass through a tinted window.
When you have a higher VLT level, more light shows, while a lower VLT means less light can get through.
For example, if you have a 50% tint on your car windows, you’ll see that same percentage of light.
This would be a much lighter tint.
However, if you had a 10% tint, you would only see 10% light, making it a much darker tint.
Exceptions to the Window Tinting Rules
As with many laws, there are a few exceptions to window tinting rules.
People living with specific medical conditions may be able to obtain permission for a darker window tint on their vehicle.
They can make this request even if they aren’t the driver.
If you’re someone who suffers from one of the following health issues, it’s important to note that you must always have proper documentation in your car if you get pulled over for illegal tint.
Delaware allows people with medical conditions to request darker tints.
Here are a few typical medical issues that are viewed as exceptions:
- Sunlight allergy
Benefits of Window Tinting
Car window tinting offers many advantages for drivers of all ages.
Here are several things you can enjoy when you tint your car windows.
When you add tint to your vehicle, let’s be honest, it just looks cooler.
It offers a clean, polished look that’s sure to impress anyone you see out on the street.
Chances are, you’ve seen celebrities on TV rolling around in tinted limousines or fancy cars.
But even ordinary people who aren’t trying to escape from the paparazzi can benefit from window tint.
This is probably one of the biggest reasons why people want tinted windows.
You’ll still get a clear view of the outside world without anyone being able to see you (depending on the type of tint you get).
Window tint helps reduce sun glare and blocks UV rays to prevent damage to your eyes or skin during your drive.
You also won’t have to worry about your car upholstery fading over time!
There’s nothing worse than getting into your car after it’s been sitting out in the sun for hours.
During warmer months, window tint can help your vehicle stay cool and save valuable energy by blocking the light from the sun.
Avoid Fines By Following Tinting Rules
There is a reason why tinting rules are put into place in Delaware and other states.
It’s critical to be able to see the road, road signs, other vehicles, and pedestrians, and if your windows are too dark, it can impair your sight.
If you can’t see clearly while driving, this puts you, your passengers, and other people on the road in danger and could result in accidental injury or death.
It’s always better to steer on the safe side. This doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy the benefits of tinted windows.
It just means that you’ll need to make sure you’re following the rules when it comes to window tinting.
Be sure to double-check your county’s laws before hitting the road!