When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more here.

Georgia Car Seat Laws (2023)

The state of Georgia legally requires children under the age of 8 years old and under 57” (4’9”) tall to be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the backseat of a vehicle.

The law does not specify types of car seat by age, but does state children should be in “a car seat or a booster seat suitable for their age and height.”

Car Seat Requirements Georgia

dad straps son into carseat

Rear-Facing Car Seat Law Georgia

There is no legal specification for how long a child must ride in a rear-facing car seat in Georgia.

Georgia law only dictates children under 8 years old and under 4’9” tall be secured in a child seat of some kind in the backseat.

  • Rear-Facing Car Seat Age: 0 years
  • Rear-Facing Car Seat Weight: unspecified
  • Rear-Facing Car Seat Height: unspecified

However, the state does provide recommendations for child safety based on federal guidelines.

Rear-Facing Car Seat Guidelines Georgia

  • Rear-Facing Car Seat Age: 1 year
  • Rear-Facing Car Seat Weight: unspecified
  • Rear-Facing Car Seat Height: unspecified

Georgia advises that babies younger than 1 year old never sit forward-facing.

Babies who reach the maximum weight on their rear-facing car seat before 1 year old should be transitioned to another rear-facing car seat with a higher weight limit.

Forward-Facing Car Seat Law Georgia

Children must ride in a front-facing car seat (or rear-facing car seat or booster seat) in Georgia until they reach ONE of the following requirements:

  • Forward-Facing Car Seat Age: 8 years
  • Forward-Facing Car Seat Weight: unspecified
  • Forward-Facing Car Seat Height: (57”) 4’9”

Forward-Facing Car Seat Guidelines Georgia

Georgia does not specify an age to which children have to ride in a forward-facing car seat (a booster seat is legal as long as a child fits the height and weight requirements).

The state does, however, recommend children transition from a rear-facing to a front-facing car seat before using a booster seat and that parents and caregivers follow federal guidelines.

  • Forward-Facing Car Seat Age: 4 years
  • Forward-Facing Car Seat Weight: 40 lbs.
  • Forward-Facing Car Seat Height: unspecified

Both rear- and front-facing car seats in Georgia must be secured in the backseats of vehicles, unless:

  • The vehicle does not have a backseat.
  • The seatbelts in the backseat are broken or there is another issue with the vehicle that makes restraint in the rear seat dangerous.
  • All seatbelts in the backseat are already occupied by other children.

Even under these exceptions, a child may only be restrained in a booster seat in the front seat in Georgia if the child weighs 40 pounds or more.

Where can I get my car seat checked or installed in Georgia?

Safe Kids Georgia provides Car Seat Checks on a regular basis by appointment throughout the state.

To view the schedule, visit the Safe Kids Georgia Calendar of Events.

Many health departments, police departments, fire departments, and hospitals in Georgia also have certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians on staff who can help install your car seat or check your installation by appointment.

For help finding a local technician in your area, contact your local health department or the Georgia Child Occupant Safety Project at [email protected]

General Car Seat Laws FAQ

father buckles baby in car seat

Are car seats effective?

Yes. Very.

According to the CDC, “car seat use reduces the risk for injury in a crash by 71-82% for children, when compared with seat belt use alone.”

What’s the best car seat?

Different types of car seats (infant, convertible, etc.) have different uses.

But, no matter what type of car seat you’re using, the best car seat is the one that will do the most effective job of keeping your child safe in the event of an accident.

See Which Car Seat To Buy: Making Sure Your Little Ones Stay Safe On The Road for our recommendations.

How do you install a car seat?

Car seat installation varies depending on whether the seat is being installed rear- or forward-facing and the manufacturer of the seat.

For help installing a rear-facing car seat, see Passenger Safety For Babies at Safe Kids Worldwide.

And for help installing a forward-facing car seat, see Passenger Safety For Little Kids at Safe Kids Worldwide.

Does AAA do car seat inspections?

Yes, the American Automobile Association (AAA) has certified child passenger safety technicians on staff.

If you are a member of AAA, you can have your car seat installation inspected for free (when available in your area).

Go to AAA.com/carseats to make an appointment for inspection.

When were car seats invented?

Two precursors to car seats as we know them today were both invented in 1962. (Though, they weren’t available until the late-60s.)7a9cd5ef a9f7 4cf7 92cb 76d8e96f2c63

The first of these seats, and the one most similar to the car seats we use today, had a Y-shaped harness and was rear-facing.

The seat was invented by British inventor (and mother) Jean Ames.

The second of these seats was metal-framed seat designed to face forward, and was invented by American inventor Leonard Rivkin.

Before that, the only type of child seat for cars were booster-style car seats, which simply lifted children higher in the seat, but had no safety features and had been manufactured since the 1930s.

When did car seats become mandatory?

Car seats became mandatory between 1978 and 1986.

Though car seats were available in the late 1960s, and the data showing their effectiveness was available in the early 1970s, they remained optional safety devices, and most parents didn’t opt to use them.

So, it became a matter of enacting laws.

In the U.S., car seats became mandatory as most things do – on a state-by-state basis.

In 1978, Tennessee became the first state to enact a child restraint law of any kind (the law passed in 1977), a successful campaign that prompted other states to follow suit.

Over the next few years, all U.S. states passed and implemented child restraint laws, with all states enacting laws by 1986.

Who is responsible for child restraint laws in the U.S.?

While there were experts and activists all over the country working to pass child restraint laws, Dr. Robert Sanders and his wife Pat are largely credited with getting the first Tennessee law passed.

Dr. Sanders was a pediatrician and he and his wife lobbied for the legislation for years.

Dr. Sanders even got a moniker out of his activism.

He became affectionately known as “Dr. Seat Belt.”

Car Seats Save Young Lives

Car seats are designed to protect the smallest, most vulnerable of children, and, since car seat rules first went into effect nationwide in the mid-1980s, they have done a stellar job at saving kids’ lives.

That’s why car seats are required in every state in the U.S. up to a certain age (with some states also having booster and front seat laws), and why the American Academy of Pediatrics and CDC recommend using some form of child restraint system in vehicles until children are big enough to be protected by a car’s built-in safety features (4’9”).

So, definitely follow Georgia’s car seat laws to protect the smallest of children.

And continue to follow the booster and front seat laws (or expert guidelines) to ensure your child is well-protected on the road.

For more on Georgia’s booster seat laws, see Georgia Booster Seat Laws.

For more on Georgia’s front seat law, see Georgia Front Seat Law.