Texans are no stranger to sunshine.
While soaking up some Texas sunshine can be extremely enjoyable, it can also make your car’s interior too hot to handle.
The powerful sun can also produce an intense glare that makes it more challenging to focus on the road.
As a result, many car owners consider getting window tints to make their commutes more comfortable.
Window tints can block harmful UV rays, prevent your car’s interior from fading, and reduce heat while driving.
However, there are specific laws in Texas that restrict certain types of tints, and they can be quite confusing.
Fortunately, we’re here to clear up some of the details about Texas window tint laws.
Overview of Texas Tint Laws
Window tint laws have been active in Texas since 2009.
The Texas window tint laws regulate how individuals and businesses place window tints on every type of car, truck, SUV, and vans.
Specific vehicles are exempt from the regulations, such as government vehicles, limousines, private escort vehicles, and individuals with medical requirements approved by the state.
Tint manufacturers are permitted to provide the state of Texas with all the details about how their film manufacturing process.
The state then produces a list of authorized window tint manufacturer individuals can select from.
Texas motorists can apply tinting film to their windshields as long as they meet specific requirements, such as:
- The tinting device cannot be red, blue, or amber-colored.
- The tinting device needs to be above the AS-1 line, an etched line at the edge of the windshield.
- Cars without an AS-1 line need to leave 5 inches of space between the tint and the top of the windshield.
- Windshield tints must have at least 25% reflection.
- Back windows can have any amount of darkness.
Can You Get Pulled Over for a Tint in Texas?
The short answer to this question is yes.
If you’re pulled over for window tint, you might need to pay a fine.
Every county has separate fines for window tints, so the ticket amount varies throughout the state.
Besides your location, several factors can impact the fine amount, such as:
- The amount of darkness over the legal limit
- History of previous window tint fines
- Whether or not you remove the tint
First-time offenders may get off with a warning or a small fine of around $20.
The officer will likely ask you to remove the tint as well.
Failure to remove your tint could result in a more expensive second fine that includes court fees of up to $275.
The more window tint tickets you get, the more you can expect to pay each time.
To avoid paying an arm and a leg for your window tints, we strongly suggest you listen to the officer and remove your tints the first time.
Further Texas Window Tint Laws & Exemptions
Texas also requires a few implementations for window tints.
For tints on the driver’s side window, the driver must have the necessary stickers that identify the legal tints to avoid a citation.
Above, we mention that certain medical conditions can make drivers exempt from Texas window tint laws.
However, they need to receive tints from a certified manufacturer.
Drivers with medical conditions will also need a signed statement by their physicians stating why the tint devices are necessary.
They’ll also need to apply for exemption at the Texas Department of Public Safety Regulatory Services Division.
Vehicles used for medical use are exempt from window tint laws, such as law enforcement and emergency services.
Passenger vehicles like buses, vans, and limousines can receive an exemption from the Texas State Department of Public safety.
Why Does Texas Have Window Tint Laws?
While having window tints comes with a wide range of benefits, such as:
- hiding your valuables from crooks
- keeping you cool, or
- protecting your skin from UV rays
There are valid reasons for the window tint regulations.
For starters, window tints can be dangerous while driving at night as they can make your vehicle more difficult to spot by other drivers.
Driving with window tints at night is also more challenging.
The darkened windows can make it more difficult for drivers to see road signs, pedestrians, other vehicles, etc.
As a result, window tint laws are in place to keep people safer on the road.
There are also several other reasons why states are quite strict about window tints.
For example, tinted windows can make a driver less visible to security cameras whenever there’s a traffic violation.
Darkened windows also make passengers less visible to law enforcement during traffic stops, affecting the officer’s safety.
Where To Find Updated Information on Texas Tint Laws?
Texas tint laws are still relatively new, and the state could always update regulations without you knowing.
The best place to find updated information about window tint regulation is at your local DMV.
You can also check out the Texas DMV official website for insights about tint law, exemptions, and more.
If you’re looking to get a tinting device for your vehicle, make sure you’re going to a state-authorized manufacturer to ensure your tints abide by Texas law.
Most tint dealerships will have an authorization certification at their office or on their website.
We hope this article helped wrap your head around Texas window tint laws.
Are you a big car fan? Be sure to check out some of our other posts if you’re looking for valuable information on anything car-related.